Once upon a time in Bavaria

I had guests! As I’ve already mentioned I’m very fond of guests, and these two are very special to me.
I met Goran and Anamarija on Friday morning at the Munich Central train station and we immediately headed to Dachau.

Dachau Entrance

They are laughing because my camera didn’t work properly so we made a queue on the entrance until I managed to make the photo. The weather was ironically good. To enjoy the sunshine in such a place and to think about how it all looked like decades ago gives you shivers. The Dachau concentration camp was the first of the Nazi concentration camps opened in Germany. It is located near the medieval town of Dachau, about 16 km northwest of Munich and it took us about half an hour to get there. We traveled with the Bayern Ticket – it’s a special offer from the German Railway which entitles you to one day of travel in Bavaria on all local trains and all transport association services. It’s a very affordable and good way of traveling, we got trough the whole city with the ticket and later returned to Augsburg with it.

IMG_9415

Dachau monument

Dachau

Our next stop was the BMW museum. Very cool, but of course I didn’t found it to be as cool as they did:

BMW museum

Then the Allianz Arena:

Allianz

Bayern Shop and Mario Mandžukić; so proud to be Croatian 😀

Bayern shop

…and then the English Garden:

English Garden

The day was tough for the two of them considering that they didn’t catch much sleep the night before. But it was great and we managed to see everything we intended although I was skeptical at the beginning.

On Saturday we visited the Neuschwanstein Castle. I can’t find the appropriate words to describe the castle. I’ve been wanting to go there ever since I saw it in some encyclopedia when I was a child. And it didn’t disappoint a little bit. It’s magnificent in every sense of the word. It’s a real-life fairy tale, enough said that it served as a model for the Sleeping Beauty’s Castle of Disneyland.

The Swan Lake:

Swan lake

Castle with them

CastleGirl scoutWe weren’t allowed to take photos of the inside of the Castle, but here’s a sneak peek:

Inside

Inside2

The Castle is an architectural masterpiece. To put it as plain as possible – it’s just wow!

The same night we went out and despite of a few difficulties had a great time. The whole weekend was a blast. I had so much fun with my Schatzis 🙂 and I’m looking forward to the next visit.

Lots of love,

Martina

One thought on “Once upon a time in Bavaria

Leave a comment